Take a chance…take any chance

Posted: August 26, 2010 in Uncategorized

Days ago I began a series entitled “Get in the game.”  The main focus being we have way to many “Christians” sitting on the sidelines expecting the rest of the world to accomplish God’s work.  We need a passionate people sold out for God’s work and a  people that refuse to give up until it’s accomplished.  I wanted to take a moment and share an encouraging story with you all.  Moments after posting the entry I had my wife read it and she said it was good and she really enjoyed it and thought others would as well.  Even after having her say that I entertained the idea of removing the post.  Not because my wife approved but because Satan began throwing thoughts at me that I’m not worthy to post this stuff, “what are you doing Chris that’s so amazing”, “how are you going to call others out on their lack of work/effort”, etc, etc.  I was really moments away from removing the post.  I ordered Satan out of my mind and went on to bed.  The next morning I woke up and had the following comment on facebook “no way bro…that is my message this Sunday…VISIONEERING! Getting in the game! Your post is awesome!”  Now, to you guys that may not sound like much of anything but let me tell you why it hit home with me.  First, it reassured me that God orchestrates things for His purpose and it blows me away that I posted something that my mentor, one of my favorite teachers of the word, one of the most respected men of God I know was already in the process of working on.  Second, I just mentioned it; Randy Pardue is the man that posted that on my facebook.  Randy Pardue could stand toe-to-toe with any of the three men listed on my blog as “speakers I enjoy listening to”…I just don’t happen to have a video of him teaching.  Of all the speakers, teachers and pastors I have ever worked with I have learned far more from Randy Pardue than any other.  He has taught me how to love like Jesus.  He has taught me to keep my head up and stay in the game.  He has taught me that no matter what the world throws at me, God will take care of his children.  The amazing thing is that all of these things he taught me through his actions and not necessarily his words.  Not only did I get that message on facebook but only an hour or so later one of my greatest friends Brent Patterson placed an encouraging comment on the post as well.  Again, it just made all the sense in the world to me that God intended on my writing that post.   It may not sound like much to you reading what he posted on my facebook but it made my day and reassured me that people still want to hear….need to hear what God has to say!!  

“All human actions have one or more of these seven causes: chance, nature, compulsions, habit, reason, passion, desire.” – Aristotle

Take a chance….take any chance

Look guys!  I know that sometimes it’s not easy making the move.  I’m reminded of a funny story.  You’ll love this!  Several years ago, back when myspace was popular, I was home (living with my parents at 24) and digging around on myspace.  How was I single, right?  Well, while I was kicking it on myspace, a young lady named Holly Aldrich logged on and we began chatting.  During our conversation  I asked her if she would be interested in hanging out sometime (I’ll spare you the exact convo).  That’s right, I asked my future wife out for the first time on myspace.  I couldn’t be more proud as I’m typing this.  Wait, WAIT, it gets better.  Her response was “are you serious?”…….ouch with a capital OUCH, right?  Not only am I pathetic enough to ask her out on myspace, her response wasn’t “sure, sounds fun” or “yeah, when would be a good time” or even “let me think about it”… nope, no no.. I get “are you serious?”  What do you say to that?  How do you respond?

I took a chance!!! I stepped out on a limb (apparently a fragile one)!!  I made the move, pulled the trigger.  Obviously this example doesn’t compare to surrendering your life to the one Christ has for you.  However, there is useful information contained in the story.  See, the end result is that Holly Adlrich became my wife.  I experienced the thrill of victory because I took the chance.  I could have let worry set in and prevent me from taking action (if you call typing a myspace message action) but at least I made the effort.  You see, she would have had nothing to respond to had I never said anything. 

Baby Steps

Have you asked yourself what’s holding you back?  What are you afraid of?  What’s the worst that could happen?

Isn’t it time you applied for that job?  Asked out the girl/guy?  Started the business? Bought the house? Started the family?

Maybe there’s a past relationship that went down the drain and ended horribly.  You’ll never full experience all God has for you until you get that handled.  Pick up the phone, write a letter, handle the situation and then take off full force with God leading the way. If risk taking isn’t your thing, just take baby steps.  Moving forward a little at a time is better than remaining still.

 

 

What are you doing right now that requires faith?  What are you doing right now for the kingdom?

 

 

Right now you are on the edge of greatness!  God has called you to great things, that’s a given.  All you have to do is decide to take step or stay where you are. 

If you are sick of living a life striving for mediocrity then pray “God, I want you and I want it all.  I don’t just want to be sitting the bench, riding the pine, or on the sidelines..I have to be involved, fully involved, completely involved.  I’m taking the chance and allowing my faith to produce.  Keep your promise God because I’m going all in.”

Now, get after it!

Leave a Reply

